English  | 日本語 - -
General Information
Health Issues
Native Attire
A Kinship

Ghana Region

For political and administrative purposes, Ghana is divided into 10 regions: Western, Central, Greater Accra, Easter, Volta, Ashanti, Brong-Ahafo, Northern, Upper West and Upper East. Each region is headed by a Regional Minister who is the direct representative of the government.

He is assisted by a regional co-ordinating council, which, among other things, co-ordinates and formulates integrated district plans and programmes within the framework of approved national development policies and priorities.

Under the regional administrations are 110 district administrations, each headed by a District Chief Executive. The District Chief Executive is also the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the District Assembly, which is the highest political and administrative authority in the district.

Region Capital
Greater Accra Region Accra
Central Region Cape Coast
Eastern Region Koforidua
Western Region Sekondi Takoradi
Ashanti Region Kumasi
Northern Region Tamale
Upper East Region Bolgatanga
Upper West Wa
Volta Region Ho
Brong Ahafo Region Sunyani

Greater Accra Region|Central Region|Western Region|Ashanti Region|Ashanti Region
Volta Region|Brong Ahafo Region|Eastern Region|Upper-West Region|Upper-East Region

Copyright (C) Embassy of Ghana in Japan All Rights Reserved.